How to Get Away with Murder Episodes 1 & 2

I am back again with a quick review of the new show, How to Get Away with Murder.  This should read OMG I can’t believe I never posted this LOL! Well the show is still on so it might be relevant!

First off I hate the title, even though it is what lawyers do every day it just doesn’t sound right to me.  I put that aside and watched the first two episodes.

Also…………………………………..warning for Possible SPOILERS!!!!!!!!!!

To made this short and sweet I will stick with what I like and don’t like so far.

Do Not Like:

1. Constant Flashbacks, they are not visually appealing and they take you out of the moment.

2. Viola’s Wig or brown hair whatever it is.  I believe a woman of her skin tone would do great with black hair and some highlights for edginess.

3.  The way they have taken someone who was supposed to be a STRONG woman and are making her a wimp.

4.  The idea to use anyone especially college students to commit a murder, well murder in general.

5.  They took the fun out of the interracial relationship by making her paranoid.

 

Do Like:

1.  The fact that there is an interracial relationship on any television show.

2.  Openly gay main character who doesn’t apologize about who he is, because we are all just people.

3.  The general idea of the law class, they haven’t used that idea much in the recent years, if at all .

4.  It’s kinda cool that Viola is a main character on the show.

5.  On another site someone said that Shonda Rhimes shows tend to last, that might help this show.

 

Now I will have to say my biggest disappointment of episode 2 was they have literally made Annalise into a soggy mess.  I think for some reason her being strong and staying strong was a plot device they forgot when they planned the script for episode 2.  It was not appealing and goes against the character she tried to portray in the first episode, strong vibrant take no prisoners black woman.  They really need to up their game and give her character a good talking to before the next episode Or at least I hope so.  Seriously not sure how much of that I can take.  They should pace themselves with showing a soft side, there is soft and sexy that can be something to work but don’t make the same person all weepy at the drop of a hat, cowering from her cheating husband and expect us to believe its real.  It could be they have no idea how this is all going to go over with the American audience.  Just because there is a love for Olivia Pope doesn’t mean America is ready for another Strong Black Female on ABC!  WE will see how it goes.

 

Here is a Short Recap from Zap2it

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.